Best free AI photo editors: what each free plan gives you (Oct 2026)
2 of the 5 AI photo editors we track have a permanent free plan. Every $0 allowance below is quoted from the vendor.
Short answer
Top free plans: Canva: Canva Free is available to anyone and includes 'up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses' (period…; Adobe Firefly: No plan needed for free daily generations across image, video and audio (incl. Nano Banana….
- 01CanvaFree plan$0
Canva Free is available to anyone and includes 'up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses' (period….
Try Canva (opens in new tab)Official site · canva.com - 02Adobe FireflyFree plan$0
No plan needed for free daily generations across image, video and audio (incl. Nano Banana…. Upgrade: Firefly Standard $9.99/mo.
Try Adobe Firefly (opens in new tab)Official site · firefly.adobe.com
Vendor-stated, checked . Full ranking, limits and sources below.
Get a weekly email when free AI plans change
We re-check every vendor's pricing page daily. The weekly digest lists each verified price, limit or free-tier change, with its source.
Free AI photo editors
| Tool | Upgrade | Free | Status | What you get for $0 & source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free plans | ||||
| Cheapest upgrade Price not published | $0 | Free tier | Canva Free is available to anyone and includes 'up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses' (period not stated); Pro gives '10x more AI than Canva Free' and Business '20x more AI'; fair-use limits apply. Source: canva.com (opens in new tab) · checked 2026-10-17 | |
| Cheapest upgrade Firefly Standard · $9.99/mo | $0 | Free tier | No plan needed for free daily generations across image, video and audio (incl. Nano Banana, Luma Ray3.14); limits refresh daily. Daily amount not published. Source: adobe.com (opens in new tab) · checked 2026-10-21 | |
| Trial only | ||||
| Cheapest upgrade Pro · $12.99/mo | — | Trial only | No free plan listed; Pro and Max offer a free trial (length not stated). Source: photoroom.com (opens in new tab) · checked 2026-10-27 | |
| No free plan listed | ||||
| Cheapest upgrade Pro · $15/mo | — | Free tier unclear | No free plan listed on the pricing page. Source: picsart.com (opens in new tab) · checked 2026-10-26 | |
| Cheapest upgrade Premium · $20/mo | — | Free tier unclear | No free plan listed on the pricing page. Source: magnific.com (opens in new tab) · checked 2026-10-27 | |
Compare the top 2 plans side by side Models, limits, resets and what happens at the cap, in one table.
Who should pick what
- You want AI photo edits for $0: Canva / Adobe Firefly. Canva Free: Canva Free is available to anyone and includes 'up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses' (period not stated); Pro gives '10x more AI than… Adobe Firefly: No plan needed for free daily generations across image, video and audio (incl. Nano Banana, Luma Ray3.14); limits refresh daily.
- You edit product photos and backgrounds in volume: Photoroom. Photoroom lists a trial, not a free plan; Pro is $12.99/mo month to month or $7.50/mo billed yearly, with 8,000 AI credits and 1,000 exports.
- You want a mobile-first editor with AI generation: Picsart. Picsart lists no free plan on its pricing page; Pro is $15/mo month to month or $10.50/mo billed yearly.
- You want stock assets and AI tools on one credit pool: Magnific. Magnific (formerly Freepik) lists no free plan; Premium is $20/mo month to month or $14.50/mo billed yearly, for 20,000 credits/month (annual: 240,000 credits/year).
Next steps
How this list is ranked
Free plans that put a number on the allowance (credits, minutes, images, messages) rank first, because you can plan around a number; free plans with unpublished allowances follow. Within each group, order follows our main price table. Trials and paid-only tools are listed after the ranking so you know they were checked.
Checked but not listed: Remini publishes no web pricing page (remini.ai/pricing returns "not found" and its web subscriptions are not open to new users), and Topaz Labs shows only a first-year discounted price with no free plan, so neither has a figure we can cite.
We never rank on reviews, affiliate deals or sponsorship. Facts are vendor-stated; "not published" means the vendor doesn't say.
Recent changes in this list
-
limit cutDowngradePhotoroom Ultra video resolution now listed as HD (was 4K)
Photoroom's pricing page now lists '4K images + HD video' on the Ultra plan ($99/month, $82.50/month billed yearly, 75,000 AI credits and 10,000 exports, all unchanged); on 2026-10-26 the same plan card read '4k video/image resolution'. Pro and Max still list it as not included.
Questions people ask
What is the cheapest AI photo editor?
Adobe Firefly: Firefly Standard costs $9.99/mo. Next cheapest: Photoroom ($12.99/mo), Picsart ($15/mo), Magnific ($20/mo). Prices checked 2026-10-16.
Which AI photo editors have a free plan?
Canva, Adobe Firefly. Not free: Photoroom (trial only), Picsart (none listed), Magnific (none listed).
Which free AI photo editor tells you exactly what you get?
None of them puts a number on the free allowance.
How current is this ranking?
It is rebuilt from our data every time prices are checked; the last check was 2026-10-16. Every price links to the vendor page it came from.