Best free AI writers: what each free plan gives you (Oct 2026)

4 of the 6 AI writing tools we track have a permanent free plan. Every $0 allowance below is quoted from the vendor.

6 tools checked

Short answer

Top free plans: Grammarly: 100 AI prompts per month for text generation; QuillBot: paraphrase up to 100 words; Rytr: 10,000 characters per month.

  1. 01
    GrammarlyFree plan
    $0

    100 AI prompts per month for text generation. Upgrade: Pro $12/mo.

    Try Grammarly (opens in new tab)Official site · grammarly.com
  2. 02
    QuillBotFree plan
    $0

    paraphrase up to 100 words. Upgrade: Premium $19.95/mo.

    Try QuillBot (opens in new tab)Official site · quillbot.com
  3. 03
    RytrFree plan
    $0

    10,000 characters per month. Upgrade: Lite $9/mo.

    Try Rytr (opens in new tab)Official site · rytr.me

Vendor-stated, checked . Full ranking, limits and sources below.

Next stepStart with Grammarly, the #1 free plan hereFree plan: 100 AI prompts per month for text generation. All 6 tools are compared below.

Try Grammarly free (opens in new tab)Official site · grammarly.com
Free plans change

Get a weekly email when free AI plans change

We re-check every vendor's pricing page daily. The weekly digest lists each verified price, limit or free-tier change, with its source.

Free AI writers

ToolUpgradeFreeStatusWhat you get for $0 & source
Free plans
Cheapest upgrade
Pro · $12/mo
$0Free tier
Allowance stated
Free: 100 AI prompts per month for text generation.
Source: grammarly.com (opens in new tab) · checked 2026-10-16
Cheapest upgrade
Premium · $19.95/mo
$0Free tier
Allowance stated
Free: paraphrase up to 100 words; humanize up to 100 words (limited usage); limited AI Detector.
Source: quillbot.com (opens in new tab) · checked 2026-10-27
Cheapest upgrade
Lite · $9/mo
$0Free tier
Allowance stated
Free forever: 10,000 characters per month; 40+ writing use cases; 30+ languages.
Source: rytr.me (opens in new tab) · checked 2026-10-24
Cheapest upgrade
Premium · $19.99/mo
$0Free tier
Free account: limited monthly credits on HyperWrite's basic AI (the pricing FAQ does not state a number).
Source: hyperwriteai.com (opens in new tab) · checked 2026-10-24
Trial only
Cheapest upgrade
Hobby & Student · $19/mo
—Trial only
No free plan; every plan offers a free trial (no credit card); trial length not stated on the pricing page.
Source: sudowrite.com (opens in new tab) · checked 2026-10-24
Cheapest upgrade
Pro · $69/mo
—Trial only
No free plan; 7-day free trial of Pro.
Source: jasper.ai (opens in new tab) · checked 2026-10-16

Compare the top 4 plans side by side Models, limits, resets and what happens at the cap, in one table.

Who should pick what

  • You want a writing tool with a stated monthly free allowance: Rytr. Rytr's free plan: 10,000 characters per month; 40+ writing use cases. Lite is $9/mo for unlimited characters.
  • You rewrite or polish essays you've already drafted: QuillBot / Grammarly. QuillBot: paraphrase up to 100 words; humanize up to 100 words (limited usage). Grammarly: 100 AI prompts per month for text generation.
  • You want research and citations in the draft: HyperWrite. HyperWrite's free account has unpublished monthly credits; Premium is $19.99/mo (250 AI messages per month).
  • You write fiction: Sudowrite. Sudowrite has a free trial, not a free plan; Hobby & Student is $19/mo month to month or $10/mo billed yearly.

Next steps

How this list is ranked

Free plans that put a number on the allowance (credits, minutes, images, messages) rank first, because you can plan around a number; free plans with unpublished allowances follow. Within each group, order follows our main price table. Trials and paid-only tools are listed after the ranking so you know they were checked.

Checked but not listed (2026-10-24): Copy.ai lists no free plan (its cheapest plan is a 5-seat team plan), and Writesonic now sells an AI search and SEO platform with a trial rather than a writing plan. General chatbots also write well for free: see free AI chatbots.

We never rank on reviews, affiliate deals or sponsorship. Facts are vendor-stated; "not published" means the vendor doesn't say.

Recent changes in this list

  1. correctionCorrection
    QuillBot Premium price corrected to $19.95 (we had listed $23.95)

    Our data listed QuillBot Premium at $23.95 a month. QuillBot's Premium page reads '$19.95 USD Per month' in our saved copies from 2026-10-22, 2026-10-23 and 2026-10-27, so we corrected the figure. This fixes our own error; QuillBot did not change its price. The $8.33 billed-annually figure was already correct.

Questions people ask

What is the cheapest AI writing tool?

Rytr: Rytr Lite costs $9/mo. Next cheapest: Grammarly ($12/mo), Sudowrite ($19/mo), QuillBot ($19.95/mo). Prices checked 2026-10-16.

Which AI writing tools have a free plan?

Rytr, QuillBot, Grammarly, HyperWrite. Not free: Sudowrite (trial only), Jasper (trial only).

Which free AI writing tool tells you exactly what you get?

Rytr: Free forever: 10,000 characters per month; 40+ writing use cases; 30+ languages.; QuillBot: Free: paraphrase up to 100 words; humanize up to 100 words (limited usage); limited AI Detector.; Grammarly: Free: 100 AI prompts per month for text generation.

How current is this ranking?

It is rebuilt from our data every time prices are checked; the last check was 2026-10-16. Every price links to the vendor page it came from.

Free to cite. All data is CC BY 4.0: quote, embed or republish it with a link to AI Plan Tracker. Raw data: tools.json · changes.json. Spotted an error? Every fact links to its source and the date we checked it.