When do Codex usage limits reset? (Oct 2026)

Codex usage runs on a 5-hour window and a weekly limit, according to OpenAI's own pages. Below: exactly what each plan's reset rule says, quoted with its source.

AI codingChecked Quoted from OpenAI

The short answer

Quoted from OpenAI

Codex usage runs on a 5-hour window and a weekly limit, according to OpenAI's own pages.

  • Plus Weekly limits may also apply.Source: developers.openai.com · checked 2026-10-16
  • Pro ($100/$200/$500) 'Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit'; weekly allowances vary by tier (not published).Source: developers.openai.com · checked 2026-10-16

Codex reset windows by plan

PlanPriceWindows the vendor namesWhat the vendor says & source
Free$0Not stated
Free $0: GPT-6 Luna at Standard speed in the desktop app, 'subject to rollout'. No image generation on Free.
Source: developers.openai.com · checked 2026-10-16
Go$8/moNot stated
GPT-6 Luna at Standard speed in the desktop app (lightweight tasks). Caps not published.
Source: developers.openai.com · checked 2026-10-16
Plus$20/mo5-hourWeekly
Estimated local messages per 5 hours: GPT-6 Astra 5-45; GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160; GPT-6 Sol 15-150; GPT-6 Luna 350-3,000. Weekly limits may also apply. Shared with ChatGPT Work.
Source: developers.openai.com · checked 2026-10-16
Pro ($100/$200/$500)$100/mo5-hourWeekly
'Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit'; weekly allowances vary by tier (not published). Ultrafast mode on Pro $500 only.
Source: developers.openai.com · checked 2026-10-16
API keyAPI token pricingNot stated
Pay per token; no cloud features (GitHub code review, Slack).
Source: developers.openai.com · checked 2026-10-16

How other tools reset

ToolWindowsReset rule (plan naming the most windows) & source
CursorAI codingWeekly
Plus: Base weekly usage pool for Cursor models, shared across Grok and Cursor; refreshes weekly.
Source: cursor.com · checked 2026-10-16
Claude CodeAI coding5-hourWeekly
Via Claude Pro: Five-hour session limit and weekly limit, shared with Claude chat (web/desktop/mobile).
Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
ClaudeChat assistants5-hourWeekly
Pro: More usage than Free per five-hour session plus a weekly limit across all models (resets at a fixed weekly time per account).
Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
GeminiChat assistants5-hourWeekly
Free: refresh every 5 hours until a weekly limit).
Source: support.google.com · checked 2026-10-17
PerplexityChat assistantsDailyWeeklyMonthly
Pro: Pro Searches, Research queries, Comet assistant and file/app creation all 'weekly/monthly limits (average use)'.
Source: perplexity.ai · checked 2026-10-16
ReplitAI codingDailyMonthly
Free: not shown on the pricing page): daily Agent credits up to a monthly cap, monthly credits for production databases, object storage and publishing.
Source: docs.replit.com · checked 2026-10-16
Bolt.newAI codingDailyMonthly
Free: Free: 300K tokens daily limit, 1M tokens per month.
Source: bolt.new · checked 2026-10-16
v0AI codingDailyMonthlyOne-time
Free: Free: $5 in one-time credits for new users; 7 message/day limit.
Source: v0.app · checked 2026-10-16

Codex plans and prices

Go

$8/mo
Limits GPT-6 Luna at Standard speed in the desktop app (lightweight tasks). Caps not published.Source: developers.openai.com · checked 2026-10-16

Plus

$20/mo
Limits Estimated local messages per 5 hours: GPT-6 Astra 5-45; GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160; GPT-6 Sol 15-150; GPT-6 Luna 350-3,000. Weekly limits may also apply. Shared with ChatGPT Work.Source: developers.openai.com · checked 2026-10-16

Pro ($100/$200/$500)

$100/mo
$100, $200 or $500/mo
Limits 'Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit'; weekly allowances vary by tier (not published). Ultrafast mode on Pro $500 only.Source: developers.openai.com · checked 2026-10-16

API key

API token pricing
Limits Pay per token; no cloud features (GitHub code review, Slack).Source: developers.openai.com · checked 2026-10-16
Price watch

Get an email when Codex changes its prices or limits

We re-check developers.openai.com every day. One email per verified price, limit or free-tier change. No change logged yet.

Compare Codex with similar tools

Codex's cheapest paid plan: Go $8/mo. Prices are the month-to-month price of each tool's cheapest individual plan, the same basis as our rankings; "billed yearly" when that's all the vendor publishes.

  • CursorAI coding$8/moPlus · free plan tooSame price
  • GitHub CopilotAI coding$10/moPro · free plan too$2/mo more
  • ZedAI coding$10/moPro · free plan too$2/mo more

Codex limit reset questions

When do Codex usage limits reset?

Codex usage runs on a 5-hour window and a weekly limit, according to OpenAI's own pages. Plus: Weekly limits may also apply. Pro ($100/$200/$500): 'Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit'; weekly allowances vary by tier (not published).

When does Codex Plus reset?

Weekly limits may also apply.

When does Codex Pro ($100/$200/$500) reset?

'Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit'; weekly allowances vary by tier (not published).

Does Codex have a weekly limit?

Yes. Plus: Weekly limits may also apply. Pro ($100/$200/$500): 'Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit'; weekly allowances vary by tier (not published).

Does the free Codex plan reset differently?

OpenAI doesn't state a reset window for the free plan on the pages we track. Free plan: Free $0: GPT-6 Luna at Standard speed in the desktop app, 'subject to rollout'. No image generation on Free.

Free to cite. All data is CC BY 4.0: quote, embed or republish it with a link to AI Plan Tracker. Raw data: tools.json · changes.json. Spotted an error? Every fact links to its source and the date we checked it.