When do Gemini usage limits reset? (Oct 2026)

Gemini usage runs on a 5-hour window and a weekly limit, according to Google's own pages. Google states 'Gemini Apps limits may change'; absolute prompt counts are not published. Below: exactly what each plan's reset rule says, quoted with its source.

Chat assistantsChecked Quoted from Google

The short answer

Quoted from Google

Gemini usage runs on a 5-hour window and a weekly limit, according to Google's own pages.

  • Free refresh every 5 hours until a weekly limit).Source: support.google.com · checked 2026-10-17

Gemini reset windows by plan

PlanPriceWindows the vendor namesWhat the vendor says & source
Free$05-hourWeekly
Free $0 with a Google Account: 'standard limits' (compute-based; refresh every 5 hours until a weekly limit); 32k-token context window; limited Nano Banana Pro; 15 GB storage.
Source: support.google.com · checked 2026-10-17
Google AI Plus$4.99/moNot stated
2x standard (Free) usage limits; 128k context; access to the Flash model (the subscriptions page lists the Pro model and Gemini 4 Argon only for AI Pro and Ultra); 200 Google Flow credits; 400 GB storage.
Source: gemini.google · checked 2026-10-17
Google AI Pro$19.99/moMonthly
4x standard usage limits; 1M-token context; 1,000 Flow credits; higher Jules limits; entry Antigravity rate limits; $10/mo Google Cloud credits; 5 TB storage.
Source: gemini.google · checked 2026-10-17
Google AI Ultra (5x)$99.99/moNot stated
5x AI Pro usage limits; 10,000 Flow credits; higher Antigravity limits; YouTube Premium; from 20 TB storage.
Source: gemini.google · checked 2026-10-17
Google AI Ultra (20x)$199.99/moNot stated
20x AI Pro usage limits; 25,000 Flow credits; highest Antigravity limits.
Source: gemini.google · checked 2026-10-17

How other tools reset

ToolWindowsReset rule (plan naming the most windows) & source
ClaudeChat assistants5-hourWeekly
Pro: More usage than Free per five-hour session plus a weekly limit across all models (resets at a fixed weekly time per account).
Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
PerplexityChat assistantsDailyWeeklyMonthly
Pro: Pro Searches, Research queries, Comet assistant and file/app creation all 'weekly/monthly limits (average use)'.
Source: perplexity.ai · checked 2026-10-16
CursorAI codingWeekly
Plus: Base weekly usage pool for Cursor models, shared across Grok and Cursor; refreshes weekly.
Source: cursor.com · checked 2026-10-16
Claude CodeAI coding5-hourWeekly
Via Claude Pro: Five-hour session limit and weekly limit, shared with Claude chat (web/desktop/mobile).
Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
CodexAI coding5-hourWeekly
Pro ($100/$200/$500): 'Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit'; weekly allowances vary by tier (not published).
Source: developers.openai.com · checked 2026-10-16
PoeChat assistantsDaily
Free: Non-paying users receive points daily that reset every 24 hours and do not roll over; Daily point amount not stated in the FAQ.
Source: help.poe.com · checked 2026-10-16
ManusChat assistantsDailyMonthly
Free: Free users get daily refresh credits, capped at 1,500 credits/month, usable only for Manus 2.0 lite.
Source: help.manus.im · checked 2026-10-16

Gemini plans and prices

Google AI Plus

$4.99/mo
Limits 2x standard (Free) usage limits; 128k context; access to the Flash model (the subscriptions page lists the Pro model and Gemini 4 Argon only for AI Pro and Ultra); 200 Google Flow credits; 400 GB storage.Source: gemini.google · checked 2026-10-17

Google AI Pro

$19.99/mo
Limits 4x standard usage limits; 1M-token context; 1,000 Flow credits; higher Jules limits; entry Antigravity rate limits; $10/mo Google Cloud credits; 5 TB storage.Source: gemini.google · checked 2026-10-17

Google AI Ultra (5x)

$99.99/mo
Limits 5x AI Pro usage limits; 10,000 Flow credits; higher Antigravity limits; YouTube Premium; from 20 TB storage.Source: gemini.google · checked 2026-10-17

Google AI Ultra (20x)

$199.99/mo
Limits 20x AI Pro usage limits; 25,000 Flow credits; highest Antigravity limits.Source: gemini.google · checked 2026-10-17
Price watch

Get an email when Gemini changes its prices or limits

We re-check gemini.google every day. One email per verified price, limit or free-tier change. Last verified change: .

Compare Gemini with similar tools

Gemini's cheapest paid plan: Google AI Plus $4.99/mo. Prices are the month-to-month price of each tool's cheapest individual plan, the same basis as our rankings; "billed yearly" when that's all the vendor publishes.

  • ChatGPTChat assistants$8/moGo · free plan too$3.01/mo more
  • GrokChat assistants$8/moPlus · free plan too$3.01/mo more
  • Microsoft CopilotChat assistants$9.99/moMicrosoft 365 Personal · free plan too$5/mo more

Gemini limit reset questions

When do Gemini usage limits reset?

Gemini usage runs on a 5-hour window and a weekly limit, according to Google's own pages. Free: refresh every 5 hours until a weekly limit).

Does Gemini have a weekly limit?

Yes. Free: refresh every 5 hours until a weekly limit).

Does the free Gemini plan reset differently?

Free: refresh every 5 hours until a weekly limit).

How many messages do you get before Gemini resets?

Google states 'Gemini Apps limits may change'; absolute prompt counts are not published. Google AI Plus: 2x standard (Free) usage limits; 128k context; access to the Flash model (the subscriptions page lists the Pro model and Gemini 4 Argon only for AI Pro and Ultra); 200 Google Flow credits; 400 GB storage. Google AI Pro: 4x standard usage limits; 1M-token context; 1,000 Flow credits; higher Jules limits; entry Antigravity rate limits; $10/mo Google Cloud credits; 5 TB storage. Google AI Ultra (5x): 5x AI Pro usage limits; 10,000 Flow credits; higher Antigravity limits; YouTube Premium; from 20 TB storage. Google AI Ultra (20x): 20x AI Pro usage limits; 25,000 Flow credits; highest Antigravity limits.

Free to cite. All data is CC BY 4.0: quote, embed or republish it with a link to AI Plan Tracker. Raw data: tools.json · changes.json. Spotted an error? Every fact links to its source and the date we checked it.