When do Claude Code usage limits reset? (Oct 2026)

Claude Code usage runs on a 5-hour window and a weekly limit, according to Anthropic's own pages. Exact session/weekly allowances not published. Below: exactly what each plan's reset rule says, quoted with its source.

AI codingChecked Quoted from Anthropic

The short answer

Quoted from Anthropic

Claude Code usage runs on a 5-hour window and a weekly limit, according to Anthropic's own pages.

  • Via Claude Pro Five-hour session limit and weekly limit, shared with Claude chat (web/desktop/mobile).Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
  • Via Claude Max 5x five-hour session + general weekly limit + separate weekly Fable limit, shared with Claude.Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16

Claude Code reset windows by plan

PlanPriceWindows the vendor namesWhat the vendor says & source
Free—Not stated
Not included in the Free Claude plan (pricing table: Claude Code 'No' on Free). Can alternatively be used pay-as-you-go with API credits via a Console account.
Source: claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
Via Claude Pro$20/mo5-hourWeekly
Five-hour session limit and weekly limit, shared with Claude chat (web/desktop/mobile). Usage credits can be enabled to continue past limits. Counts not published.
Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
Via Claude Max 5x$100/mo5-hourWeekly
5x Pro per-session allowance; five-hour session + general weekly limit + separate weekly Fable limit, shared with Claude.
Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
Via Claude Max 20x$200/moNot stated
20x Pro per-session allowance; same limit structure as Max 5x.
Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
API (pay-as-you-go)Usage billed at API token ratesNot stated
No subscription limit; pay per token.
Source: claude.com · checked 2026-10-16

How other tools reset

ToolWindowsReset rule (plan naming the most windows) & source
CursorAI codingWeekly
Plus: Base weekly usage pool for Cursor models, shared across Grok and Cursor; refreshes weekly.
Source: cursor.com · checked 2026-10-16
CodexAI coding5-hourWeekly
Pro ($100/$200/$500): 'Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit'; weekly allowances vary by tier (not published).
Source: developers.openai.com · checked 2026-10-16
ClaudeChat assistants5-hourWeekly
Pro: More usage than Free per five-hour session plus a weekly limit across all models (resets at a fixed weekly time per account).
Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
GeminiChat assistants5-hourWeekly
Free: refresh every 5 hours until a weekly limit).
Source: support.google.com · checked 2026-10-17
PerplexityChat assistantsDailyWeeklyMonthly
Pro: Pro Searches, Research queries, Comet assistant and file/app creation all 'weekly/monthly limits (average use)'.
Source: perplexity.ai · checked 2026-10-16
ReplitAI codingDailyMonthly
Free: not shown on the pricing page): daily Agent credits up to a monthly cap, monthly credits for production databases, object storage and publishing.
Source: docs.replit.com · checked 2026-10-16
Bolt.newAI codingDailyMonthly
Free: Free: 300K tokens daily limit, 1M tokens per month.
Source: bolt.new · checked 2026-10-16
v0AI codingDailyMonthlyOne-time
Free: Free: $5 in one-time credits for new users; 7 message/day limit.
Source: v0.app · checked 2026-10-16

Claude Code plans and prices

Via Claude Pro

$20/mo
Annual: $200/yr
Limits Five-hour session limit and weekly limit, shared with Claude chat (web/desktop/mobile). Usage credits can be enabled to continue past limits. Counts not published.Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16

Via Claude Max 5x

$100/mo
Limits 5x Pro per-session allowance; five-hour session + general weekly limit + separate weekly Fable limit, shared with Claude.Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16

Via Claude Max 20x

$200/mo
Limits 20x Pro per-session allowance; same limit structure as Max 5x.Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16

API (pay-as-you-go)

Usage billed at API token rates
Limits No subscription limit; pay per token.Source: claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
Price watch

Get an email when Claude Code changes its prices or limits

We re-check support.claude.com every day. One email per verified price, limit or free-tier change. No change logged yet.

Cheaper alternatives to Claude Code

Claude Code's cheapest paid plan: Via Claude Pro $20/mo. Prices are the month-to-month price of each tool's cheapest individual plan, the same basis as our rankings; "billed yearly" when that's all the vendor publishes.

  • CursorAI coding$8/moPlus · free plan too$12/mo less
  • CodexAI coding$8/moGo · free plan too$12/mo less
  • GitHub CopilotAI coding$10/moPro · free plan too$10/mo less
  • ZedAI coding$10/moPro · free plan too$10/mo less

Claude Code limit reset questions

When do Claude Code usage limits reset?

Claude Code usage runs on a 5-hour window and a weekly limit, according to Anthropic's own pages. Via Claude Pro: Five-hour session limit and weekly limit, shared with Claude chat (web/desktop/mobile). Via Claude Max 5x: five-hour session + general weekly limit + separate weekly Fable limit, shared with Claude.

When does Claude Code Claude Pro reset?

Five-hour session limit and weekly limit, shared with Claude chat (web/desktop/mobile).

When does Claude Code Claude Max 5x reset?

five-hour session + general weekly limit + separate weekly Fable limit, shared with Claude.

Does Claude Code have a weekly limit?

Yes. Via Claude Pro: Five-hour session limit and weekly limit, shared with Claude chat (web/desktop/mobile). Via Claude Max 5x: five-hour session + general weekly limit + separate weekly Fable limit, shared with Claude.

Does the free Claude Code plan reset differently?

Anthropic doesn't state a reset window for the free plan on the pages we track. Free plan: Not included in the Free Claude plan (pricing table: Claude Code 'No' on Free). Can alternatively be used pay-as-you-go with API credits via a Console account.

How many messages do you get before Claude Code resets?

Exact session/weekly allowances not published. Via Claude Pro: Five-hour session limit and weekly limit, shared with Claude chat (web/desktop/mobile). Usage credits can be enabled to continue past limits. Counts not published. Via Claude Max 5x: 5x Pro per-session allowance; five-hour session + general weekly limit + separate weekly Fable limit, shared with Claude. Via Claude Max 20x: 20x Pro per-session allowance; same limit structure as Max 5x. API (pay-as-you-go): No subscription limit; pay per token.

Free to cite. All data is CC BY 4.0: quote, embed or republish it with a link to AI Plan Tracker. Raw data: tools.json · changes.json. Spotted an error? Every fact links to its source and the date we checked it.