When do Perplexity usage limits reset? (Oct 2026)

Perplexity usage runs on a daily allowance, a weekly limit and a monthly allowance, according to Perplexity AI's own pages. Below: exactly what each plan's reset rule says, quoted with its source.

Chat assistantsChecked Quoted from Perplexity AI

The short answer

Quoted from Perplexity AI

Perplexity usage runs on a daily allowance, a weekly limit and a monthly allowance, according to Perplexity AI's own pages.

  • Free Pro Searches 3/day.Source: perplexity.ai · checked 2026-10-16
  • Pro Pro Searches, Research queries, Comet assistant and file/app creation all 'weekly/monthly limits (average use)'.Source: perplexity.ai · checked 2026-10-16

Perplexity reset windows by plan

PlanPriceWindows the vendor namesWhat the vendor says & source
Free$0DailyMonthly
Free (Standard): 'practically unlimited basic searches'; Pro Searches 3/day; Research queries 1/month; no advanced models or image generation; limited file uploads.
Source: perplexity.ai · checked 2026-10-16
Pro$17/mo billed yearlyWeeklyMonthly
Pro Searches, Research queries, Comet assistant and file/app creation all 'weekly/monthly limits (average use)'; numbers not published. Limited-time +$40 Computer credits.
Source: perplexity.ai · checked 2026-10-16
Max$167/mo billed yearlyMonthly
'Unlimited usage'; 10,000 monthly credits; limits '(advanced use)' not quantified. Limited-time +$450 Computer credits.
Source: perplexity.ai · checked 2026-10-16
Education Pro$10/moNot stated
Everything in Pro for verified students/educators (SheerID).
Source: perplexity.ai · checked 2026-10-16
Enterprise Pro$40/moWeeklyMonthly
400 Pro Searches/week; 50 Research/month; 80 Comet queries/month; 100 file-upload sessions/week.
Source: perplexity.ai · checked 2026-10-16

How other tools reset

ToolWindowsReset rule (plan naming the most windows) & source
ClaudeChat assistants5-hourWeekly
Pro: More usage than Free per five-hour session plus a weekly limit across all models (resets at a fixed weekly time per account).
Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
GeminiChat assistants5-hourWeekly
Free: refresh every 5 hours until a weekly limit).
Source: support.google.com · checked 2026-10-17
CursorAI codingWeekly
Plus: Base weekly usage pool for Cursor models, shared across Grok and Cursor; refreshes weekly.
Source: cursor.com · checked 2026-10-16
Claude CodeAI coding5-hourWeekly
Via Claude Pro: Five-hour session limit and weekly limit, shared with Claude chat (web/desktop/mobile).
Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
CodexAI coding5-hourWeekly
Pro ($100/$200/$500): 'Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit'; weekly allowances vary by tier (not published).
Source: developers.openai.com · checked 2026-10-16
PoeChat assistantsDaily
Free: Non-paying users receive points daily that reset every 24 hours and do not roll over; Daily point amount not stated in the FAQ.
Source: help.poe.com · checked 2026-10-16
ManusChat assistantsDailyMonthly
Free: Free users get daily refresh credits, capped at 1,500 credits/month, usable only for Manus 2.0 lite.
Source: help.manus.im · checked 2026-10-16

Perplexity plans and prices

Pro

$17/mo billed yearly
$17/mo billed annually (monthly price not shown on page)
Limits Pro Searches, Research queries, Comet assistant and file/app creation all 'weekly/monthly limits (average use)'; numbers not published. Limited-time +$40 Computer credits.Source: perplexity.ai · checked 2026-10-16

Max

$167/mo billed yearly
$167/mo billed annually (monthly price not shown on page)
Limits 'Unlimited usage'; 10,000 monthly credits; limits '(advanced use)' not quantified. Limited-time +$450 Computer credits.Source: perplexity.ai · checked 2026-10-16

Education Pro

$10/mo
Limits Everything in Pro for verified students/educators (SheerID).Source: perplexity.ai · checked 2026-10-16

Enterprise Pro

$40/mo
from $40/seat/mo or $400/yr
Limits 400 Pro Searches/week; 50 Research/month; 80 Comet queries/month; 100 file-upload sessions/week.Source: perplexity.ai · checked 2026-10-16
Price watch

Get an email when Perplexity changes its prices or limits

We re-check perplexity.ai every day. One email per verified price, limit or free-tier change. No change logged yet.

Cheaper alternatives to Perplexity

Perplexity's cheapest paid plan: Pro $17/mo billed yearly. Prices are the month-to-month price of each tool's cheapest individual plan, the same basis as our rankings; "billed yearly" when that's all the vendor publishes.

  • GeminiChat assistants$4.99/moGoogle AI Plus · free plan too
  • ChatGPTChat assistants$8/moGo · free plan too
  • GrokChat assistants$8/moPlus · free plan too
  • Microsoft CopilotChat assistants$9.99/moMicrosoft 365 Personal · free plan too

Perplexity limit reset questions

When do Perplexity usage limits reset?

Perplexity usage runs on a daily allowance, a weekly limit and a monthly allowance, according to Perplexity AI's own pages. Free: Pro Searches 3/day. Pro: Pro Searches, Research queries, Comet assistant and file/app creation all 'weekly/monthly limits (average use)'.

When does Perplexity Pro reset?

Pro Searches, Research queries, Comet assistant and file/app creation all 'weekly/monthly limits (average use)'.

Does Perplexity have a weekly limit?

Yes. Pro: Pro Searches, Research queries, Comet assistant and file/app creation all 'weekly/monthly limits (average use)'.

Does the free Perplexity plan reset differently?

Free: Pro Searches 3/day.

Free to cite. All data is CC BY 4.0: quote, embed or republish it with a link to AI Plan Tracker. Raw data: tools.json · changes.json. Spotted an error? Every fact links to its source and the date we checked it.