When do Claude usage limits reset? (Oct 2026)

Claude usage runs on a 5-hour window and a weekly limit, according to Anthropic's own pages. Exact message/token allowances per session or week are not published. Below: exactly what each plan's reset rule says, quoted with its source.

Chat assistantsChecked Quoted from Anthropic

The short answer

Quoted from Anthropic

Claude usage runs on a 5-hour window and a weekly limit, according to Anthropic's own pages.

  • Free Usage limits reset on a rolling five-hour session window.Source: claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
  • Pro More usage than Free per five-hour session plus a weekly limit across all models (resets at a fixed weekly time per account).Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
  • Max 5x session limit resets every five hours; weekly limit across all models; separate weekly limit for Fable.Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
  • Max 20x five-hour session reset; weekly limit; separate Fable weekly limit.Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16

Claude reset windows by plan

PlanPriceWindows the vendor namesWhat the vendor says & source
Free$05-hour
Free $0: chat on web/desktop/mobile, web search, file creation & code execution, memory, connectors, Artifacts, up to 5 Projects. Sonnet and Haiku models (no Opus); no Claude Code. Usage limits reset on a rolling five-hour session window; message counts not published.
Source: claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
Pro$20/mo5-hourWeekly
More usage than Free per five-hour session plus a weekly limit across all models (resets at a fixed weekly time per account). Message counts not published; vary by message length, attachments, model. Claude Code included, sharing the same limits.
Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
Max 5x$100/mo5-hourWeekly
5x the Pro per-session usage allowance; session limit resets every five hours; weekly limit across all models; separate weekly limit for Fable. Includes $100/month API credits.
Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
Max 20x$200/mo5-hourWeekly
20x the Pro per-session usage allowance; five-hour session reset; weekly limit; separate Fable weekly limit. Includes $200/month API credits.
Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
Enterprise$20/moNot stated
Usage billed at API rates.
Source: claude.com · checked 2026-10-16

How other tools reset

ToolWindowsReset rule (plan naming the most windows) & source
GeminiChat assistants5-hourWeekly
Free: refresh every 5 hours until a weekly limit).
Source: support.google.com · checked 2026-10-17
PerplexityChat assistantsDailyWeeklyMonthly
Pro: Pro Searches, Research queries, Comet assistant and file/app creation all 'weekly/monthly limits (average use)'.
Source: perplexity.ai · checked 2026-10-16
CursorAI codingWeekly
Plus: Base weekly usage pool for Cursor models, shared across Grok and Cursor; refreshes weekly.
Source: cursor.com · checked 2026-10-16
Claude CodeAI coding5-hourWeekly
Via Claude Pro: Five-hour session limit and weekly limit, shared with Claude chat (web/desktop/mobile).
Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
CodexAI coding5-hourWeekly
Pro ($100/$200/$500): 'Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit'; weekly allowances vary by tier (not published).
Source: developers.openai.com · checked 2026-10-16
PoeChat assistantsDaily
Free: Non-paying users receive points daily that reset every 24 hours and do not roll over; Daily point amount not stated in the FAQ.
Source: help.poe.com · checked 2026-10-16
ManusChat assistantsDailyMonthly
Free: Free users get daily refresh credits, capped at 1,500 credits/month, usable only for Manus 2.0 lite.
Source: help.manus.im · checked 2026-10-16

Claude plans and prices

Pro

$20/mo
Annual: $200 billed up front
Limits More usage than Free per five-hour session plus a weekly limit across all models (resets at a fixed weekly time per account). Message counts not published; vary by message length, attachments, model. Claude Code included, sharing the same limits.Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16

Max 5x

$100/mo
Annual: Monthly billing only
Limits 5x the Pro per-session usage allowance; session limit resets every five hours; weekly limit across all models; separate weekly limit for Fable. Includes $100/month API credits.Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16

Max 20x

$200/mo
Annual: Monthly billing only
Limits 20x the Pro per-session usage allowance; five-hour session reset; weekly limit; separate Fable weekly limit. Includes $200/month API credits.Source: support.claude.com · checked 2026-10-16

Enterprise

$20/mo
$20/seat/mo + usage at API rates, billed annually
Limits Usage billed at API rates.Source: claude.com · checked 2026-10-16
Price watch

Get an email when Claude changes its prices or limits

We re-check support.claude.com every day. One email per verified price, limit or free-tier change. Last verified change: .

Cheaper alternatives to Claude

Claude's cheapest paid plan: Pro $20/mo. Prices are the month-to-month price of each tool's cheapest individual plan, the same basis as our rankings; "billed yearly" when that's all the vendor publishes.

  • GeminiChat assistants$4.99/moGoogle AI Plus · free plan too$15.01/mo less
  • ChatGPTChat assistants$8/moGo · free plan too$12/mo less
  • GrokChat assistants$8/moPlus · free plan too$12/mo less
  • Microsoft CopilotChat assistants$9.99/moMicrosoft 365 Personal · free plan too$10.01/mo less

Claude limit reset questions

When do Claude usage limits reset?

Claude usage runs on a 5-hour window and a weekly limit, according to Anthropic's own pages. Free: Usage limits reset on a rolling five-hour session window. Pro: More usage than Free per five-hour session plus a weekly limit across all models (resets at a fixed weekly time per account). Max 5x: session limit resets every five hours; weekly limit across all models; separate weekly limit for Fable. Max 20x: five-hour session reset; weekly limit; separate Fable weekly limit.

When does Claude Pro reset?

More usage than Free per five-hour session plus a weekly limit across all models (resets at a fixed weekly time per account).

When does Claude Max 5x reset?

session limit resets every five hours; weekly limit across all models; separate weekly limit for Fable.

When does Claude Max 20x reset?

five-hour session reset; weekly limit; separate Fable weekly limit.

Does Claude have a weekly limit?

Yes. Pro: More usage than Free per five-hour session plus a weekly limit across all models (resets at a fixed weekly time per account). Max 5x: session limit resets every five hours; weekly limit across all models; separate weekly limit for Fable. Max 20x: five-hour session reset; weekly limit; separate Fable weekly limit.

Does the free Claude plan reset differently?

Free: Usage limits reset on a rolling five-hour session window.

How many messages do you get before Claude resets?

Exact message/token allowances per session or week are not published. Pro: More usage than Free per five-hour session plus a weekly limit across all models (resets at a fixed weekly time per account). Message counts not published; vary by message length, attachments, model. Claude Code included, sharing the same limits. Max 5x: 5x the Pro per-session usage allowance; session limit resets every five hours; weekly limit across all models; separate weekly limit for Fable. Includes $100/month API credits. Max 20x: 20x the Pro per-session usage allowance; five-hour session reset; weekly limit; separate Fable weekly limit. Includes $200/month API credits. Enterprise: Usage billed at API rates.

Free to cite. All data is CC BY 4.0: quote, embed or republish it with a link to AI Plan Tracker. Raw data: tools.json · changes.json. Spotted an error? Every fact links to its source and the date we checked it.